You are viewing the StAnza Poetry Festival 2005-2014 archive
For the current festival site, go to

StAnza International Poetry Festival

Participants: Julia Copus

Julia Copus(Photo: Chris Cutts)

Julia Copus's books include The Shuttered Eye (1995), which was shortlisted for the Forward Prize for Best First Collection, and In Defence of Adultery (2003) — both PBS Recommendations.  She has won a number of awards for her poetry, including an Eric Gregory Award, an Arts Council of England Writer's Award, a Hawthornden Fellowship, and a BBC/Gulbenkian Foundation writer's bursary.  In 2003 she won First Prize in the National Poetry Competition.  She is currently an Advisory Fellow for the Royal Literary Fund, and an Honorary Fellow at the University of Exeter.

StAnza 2009 Events:

Fri 20 March | Five O’Clock Verses
Reading: Julia Copus, Alan Gillis
Parliament Hall, South Street

All images are copyright © StAnza or individual named photographers. Please do not use without permission.