You are viewing the StAnza Poetry Festival 2005-2014 archive
For the current festival site, go to

StAnza International Poetry Festival

StAnza: Information

StAnza Information

StAnza 2012 took place from: 14-18 March, 2012

Location: St Andrews, Fife, Scotland
Hub Venue: The Byre Theatre
Other venues: St John's Undercroft, Parliament Hall, St Mary's Hall, The Town Hall - Supper Room & Council Chamber, The Public Library, The Preservation Trust Museum, The Green Room, Zest, Fraser East, The Albany Hotel, Balmungo House

Themes: The Image; Poetry by Degrees

Online brochure for StAnza 2012 available here

Festival Themes

Each festival focuses on two themes which weave around each other to give every StAnza its own unique flavour.

Our themes for StAnza 2012 were The Image and Poetry by Degrees. In the first we looked at the importance and relevance of the image in poetry, but also in psychology, religion, visual art, and in particular with reference to St Andrews’ significance in the history of photography. Our second theme, as part of an educational expansion, and during the 600th anniversary celebrations at the University of St Andrews, looked at poetry in education and education in poetry.

StAnza Box OfficeHeadline Poets featured included:

Kathleen Jamie
Jackie Kay
Christopher Reid
Chase Twichell
Lavinia Greenlaw
Kwame Dawes
Grace Nichols
Michael Symmons Roberts
Matthew Hollis 


Ghayath Almadhoun
Gill Andrews
Tusiata Avia
Simon Barraclough
The Dave Batchelor Quintet
Jo Bell
Rachael Boast
William Bonar
Alan Buckley
John Burnside
Gerry Cambridge
Niall Campbell
A.C. Clarke
Ken Cockburn
Alastair Cook
Swithun Cooper
Robert Crawford
Anna Crowe
Tony Curtis
Tadeusz Dąbrowski
Claudia Daventry
Kwame Dawes
Young Dawkins
Isobel Dixon
Karen Dunbar
Joe Dunthorne
Jonathan Falla
Martin Figura
Alec Finlay
John Glenday
Rody Gorman
Lavinia Greenlaw
Catherine Hales
Kerry Hardie
Tom Harrup
David Hayman
Rozalie Hirs
Matthew Hollis
Irene Hossack
Helen Ivory
Andy Jackson
Kathleen Jamie
Edwin Janssen
Chris Jones

Jackie Kay
Pippa Little
Antonia Lloyd-Jones
Norman McBeath
Richie McCaffery
Tracy Mackenna
Jane McKie
Lachlan Mackinnon
Joyce McMillan
Nikola Madzirov
Mending Hearts Trio
Hilary Menos
Alistair Moffat
Lyn Moir
David Morley
Theresa Muñoz
John Neilson
Grace Nichols
Bernard O'Donoghue
Jane Overton
Don Paterson
Holly Pester
Dan Phillips
Eveline Pye
Christopher Reid
Andrew Roberts
Michael Symmons Roberts
Derek Robertson
Corinna Salvadori
Saxophone Quartet
John Siddique
Boel Schenlaer
Judy Steel
Keston Sutherland
Judith Taylor
Samuel Tongue
Chase Twichell
Deniz Űster
Tony Walsh
Nuala Watt
Chrissy Williams
Robert Wilson
Chris Young

We're Celebrating Fife


Funding for 2012

StAnza is funded by Creative Scotland, EventScotland and Fife Council, and supported by the Year of Creative Scotland 2012.


All images are copyright © StAnza or individual named photographers. Please do not use without permission.