You are viewing the StAnza Poetry Festival 2005-2014 archive
For the current festival site, go to

StAnza International Poetry Festival

StAnza: Information

StAnza Information

StAnza 2013 took place from: 6 - 10 March, 2013

Location: St Andrews, Fife, Scotland, UK
Hub Venue: The Byre Theatre
Other venues: The Undercroft, Parliament Hall, St Mary's Hall, The Town Hall - Supper Room & Council Chamber, St Leonards Music Auditorium School, St Leonards Chapel, All Saints Church Hall, The Barron Theatre, Aikman’s Bar-Bistro, Holy Trinity Church, The Garden Seminar Room, The Public Library, The Preservation Trust Museum, The Albany Hotel, Fairmont St Andrews, The Green Room, Zest, Balmungo House, Fraser East and the Medical and Biological Sciences Building Theatre

Themes: Designs on Poetry; Legacy & Place

Online brochure for StAnza 2013 available here

Festival Themes

Each festival focuses on two themes which weave around each other to give every StAnza its own unique flavour.

Our themes for StAnza 2013 were Designs on Poetry; Legacy & Place.

In the first we considered how poems are formed, and also relationships between other aspects of design and poetry.

Our second theme, during the 600th anniversary celebrations at the University of St Andrews and in the year of Natural Scotland, looked both at the impact on poetry of great past writers, men and women of the arts and sciences; and also how poetry addresses a sense of place and the importance of natural and built environment.


StAnza Box OfficeHeadline Poets:

Robin Robertson
Liz Lochhead
John Hegley
Mark Doty
Paula Meehan
Erín Moure
Ken Babstock

Gillian Clarke  


Patricia Ace
Carry Akroyd
Ifor Ap Glyn
Jean Atkin
Ken Babstock
Rob Barratt
Helen Boden
Sean Borodale
David Borthwick
John Burnside
Ron Butlin
Drew Campbell
Liam Carson
Antony Christie
Gillian Clarke
Roisin Connolly
Sally Crabtree
Robert Crawford
Anna Crowe
Gordon Dargie
Martin Dimery
Mark Doty
Ann Drysdale
Douglas Dunn
Chris Emery
Bruce Eunson
David Evans
Fires of Love
Andrew Forster
Amy Gair
Diane Garrick
Ghostboy (David Stavanger)
Harry Giles

Molly Ginnelly
Meg Grant
Andrew Greig
Mandy Haggith
Iyad Hayatleh
John Hegley
Anja Hertenberger
Joy Howard
Sue Hubbard
Roger Hutchison
The Inklight Poets
Andy Jackson
Biddy Jenkinson
Paula Jennings
Laureen Johnson
Chris Jones
Colm Keegan
Luke Kennard
Kerry Shawn Keys
Anna King
Dianne King
Angela Kirby
Joan Lennon
Liz Lochhead

Catherine Lockerbie
Margaret Lonergan
Seán Mac Erlain
Peter Manson
Rachel McCrum
Máighréad Medbh
James MacKenzie
Paula Meehan
Mending Hearts Trio
Robert Minhinnick
Erín Moure
John Nichol
Eiríkur Örn Norðdahl

Alvin Pang
Chris Park
Meg Peacocke
Rhiannon Purdie
Tessa Ransford
Deryn Rees-Jones
Lesley Riddoch
Sarah Riley
Jon Ståle Ritland
Andrew Roberts
Helen Robertson
Robin Robertson
Gabriel Rosenstock
Charlotte Runcie
Eurig Salisbury
Chrys Salt
Jacob Sam-La Rose
Maureen Sangster
Robbie Schneider
Robert Şerban
Rebecca Joy Sharp
Magnús Sigurðsson
Hannah Silva
Dot Sim
Lucilla Sim
Zoë Skoulding
Judy Steel
Ludwig Steinherr
Gerda Stevenson
Chris Stone
George Szirtes
Christian S. Tait
John J. Taylor and the Dionysus Trio
Greg Thomas
University of St Andrews Buchanan Scholarship  Quartet
Arvis Viguls
Christine Webb
Christopher Whyte (Crìsdean MacIlleBhàin)
Colin Will
Rab Wilson
Luke Wright
Samantha Wynne-Rhydderch


StAnza is funded by Creative Scotland, EventScotland and Fife Council.

StAnza 2014 will take place from: 5 - 9 March, 20134
Location: St Andrews, Fife, Scotland, UK
Venues: The Undercroft, Parliament Hall, St Mary's Hall, The Town Hall - Supper Room & Council Chamber, The Public Library, The Preservation Trust Museum, The Albany Hotel, The Fairmont, The Green Room, Zest, Balmungo House & Fraser East, plus more to be confirmed

Themes: A Commonwealth of Poetry; Words Under Fire


All images are copyright © StAnza or individual named photographers. Please do not use without permission.