You are viewing the StAnza Poetry Festival 2005-2014 archive
For the current festival site, go to

StAnza International Poetry Festival

StAnza: Information

StAnza Information

StAnza 2014 took place from: 5-9 March, 2014

Location: St Andrews, Fife, Scotland, UK
Venue: The Undercroft, Parliament Hall, St Mary's Hall, The Town Hall - Supper Room & Council Chamber, The Public Library, The Preservation Trust Museum, The Green Room, Zest & Fraser East, the Byre Theatre - Auditorium, Studio, Conference Room & foyers.

Themes: A Common Wealth of Poetry; Words Under Fire

StAnza 2014 Brochure now online

Festival Themes

Each festival focuses on two themes which weave around each other to give every StAnza its own unique flavour.

Our themes for StAnza 2014 were A Common Wealth of Poetry, and Words Under Fire.

In the first we engaged with poetry from commonwealth countries and also with the points of focus for Scotland’s Year of Homecoming 2014.

Our second theme, in the centenary year of the start of the war which produced a body of poetry which still resonates strongly, looked at the poetic legacy of this and other wars.

StAnza Box OfficeHeadline Poets:

Louis de Bernières
Sujata Bhatt
John Burnside
David Constantine
Tishani Doshi
Carol Ann Duffy
Menna Elfyn
Paul Muldoon
Ron Silliman
Brian Turner



Gabeba Baderoon
Tomica Bajsic
Giuseppe Bartoli
Martin Bates
Louis de Bernieres
Sujata Bhatt
Ian Blake
Carly Brown
Caroline Brown
John Burnside
Robin Cairns
Drew Campbell
Jim Causley
David Constantine
TJ Dema
Tishani Doshi
Lukas Drinkwater
Carol Ann Duffy
Arjen Duinker
Lesley Duncan
Menna Elfyn
Sally Evans
Marco Fazinni
Vikki Feaver
Jodi-Anne George
Margaret Gillies Brown
John Greening
Alex Gwyther
Diana Hendry
Ian Higgins
Brian Holton
Alexander Hutchison
Andy Jackson
Jean Johnstone
William Kenefick
Kate Kilalea
Jenny Lewis
Jenny Lindsay
Hannah Lowe

Rob A Mackenzie
Nikki Magennis
Colin Maguire
Richie McCaffery
Marion McCready
Rachel McCrum
Peter McKay
David Lee Morgan
J O Morgan
Paul Muldoon
Katrina Naomi
Dan O'Brien
Michael Pederson
Gill Plain
Jacob Polley
Martine Pugh
Maggie Rabatski
Mohan Rana
Stephen Raw
Tim Ridley
Tracey Rosenberg
Angharad Rowlands
John Sampson
Andrew Sclater
Tanya Shirley
Ron Silliman
Kathrine Sowerby
Square Peg Contemporary Circus
Suzanne Steele
Gerda Stevenson
Laila Sumpton
Ross Sutherland
Sheila Templeton
Angela Topping
Brian Turner
Maria Walker
Sophie Walker
Keith Williams


StAnza is funded by Creative Scotland, EventScotland, Homecoming Scotland 2014 and Fife Council.


All images are copyright © StAnza or individual named photographers. Please do not use without permission.